Open Book Interview with Stephanie Edwards

 

1. What do you do, and how long have you been doing it?

I’m the Children’s Services Manager at the Champaign Public Library.  I began working here in 2005, right out of grad school, as a children’s librarian, and became the manager in 2007.

2. Why are you an ILA member? 

I think it’s important to be a part of the larger library community.  It gives you the opportunity to meet other people in the field and gain great insights and ideas from what others are doing around the state.

3. What’s your number #1 source of news in children’s services / literature?

 The one source I read regularly for both reviews and information is School Library Journal.  I also peruse Publisher’s Weekly and Booklist but they don’t have as much that is pertinent to the youth services field.

4. What do you think children’s librarians will be doing ten years from now?

 I think technology will continue to influence what we do and how we do it.  I’m not sure what it will look like 10 years from now, but I hope we’re still reading books, singing songs, and helping children develop a love of reading.

5. What book(s) are you currently reading?

I always have at least two books going at once ~ one by my bed and an audio in my car.  I’m on the Bluestem Nominating Committee so I always have lots of books on my list.  Currently I’m listening to The Ghost of Crutchfield Hall by Mary Downing Hahn (one of my favorite authors) and reading The Year the Swallows Came Early by Katherine Fitzmaurice.

6. What children’s book character would you most like to be and why?

 I have thought and thought about this and what keeps coming to mind is Amelia Bedelia.  Not sure why ~ she just seems to have fun at all she does and I’ve always enjoyed the literal humor in the Amelia books.

 7. When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?

I always wanted to be a teacher and a singer.  As a librarian, I get to do both! J

8. What’s one “rule” you wished every librarian followed?

 Treat everyone with respect, regardless of age.

 9. Harriet Welch or Hermoine Grainger?  OR Sammy Keyes or Nancy Drew?

 Hmm … that’s a tough one.  As a kid, I loved Harriet (hated Nancy) but don’t know that I was much like Harriet.  I would have related more to Hermoine, the nerdy, brown-noser.  Yeah ~ that’s about right!

 10. It’s lunch: soup, sandwich, or salad? OR What condiment is always in your fridge?

Does flavored coffee creamer count as a condiment?  I can’t live without my creamer ~ especially love Peppermint Mocha!

 

This entry was posted in Librarian Interviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

