Davis Cup Award

The Davis Cup Award was established by the Children’s Librarians Section of the Illinois Library Association in 1971 to honor Marion Davis.  This annual award is presented to a person who has made an outstanding contribution in library service to young people. Since its inception, the award has been presented to individuals who exemplify resourcefulness, professionalism, and caring in their service to young people. Deadline for nominations each year is May 15. Committee Chair for the ILA Youth Forum Awards is Lynne Priest.

ELIGIBILITY: The recipient must be an ILA member. Neither the recipient nor the nominator need be a youth services librarian. Members of the Youth Forum Awards Committee and the Youth Services Forum officers cannot nominate an individual for the Davis Cup.

NOMINATION: The nomination should consist of the completed ILA nomination form and a written statement (maximum of 4 pages) demonstrating with specific examples how the individual meets the following criteria:

  • Specialized or innovative programs or services for young people initiated by the nominee.
  • Service to the library profession through active  participation in professional organizations (at the local, state, or national level), the training of others, publishing, etc.
  • The nominee has influenced and/or cooperated with persons and organizations within his/her community in the planning or presenting of programs or services for young people.
  • The nominee has reached and affected persons outside his/her own community by deed, idea, and/or example.
  •  A maximum of three references may be included.

AWARD: The Award is sponsored by ABDO Publishing. The recipient of the Davis Cup receives an engraved Revere bowl and a $300 award.


The recipient of the Davis Cup receives an engraved Revere bowl and a $300 award.

1971 Marion Davis

1972 Florence Burmeister

1973 Charlemae Rollins

1974 Margaret Bush

1975 Mary Greenwalt

1976 Margaret Pendergrass

1977 Yolanda Federici

1978 Winifred Ladley

1979 Marie C. Will

1980 Elizabeth Huntoon

1981 Barbara Lintner

1982 Leslie Edmonds

1983 Ruth Griffith

1984-85 Maxine Payne

1986 Martha Eads Ward

1987 Paula Moore

1988 Mary Ann Sarver

1989 Jan Eakin Jones

1990 Vivian Carter

1991 Pam Bartusiewicz

1992 A. Denise Farrugia

1993 Mary Gwen Dake

1994 Barbara Driesner

1995 Pamela Klipsch

1996 Denise Zielinski

1997 Mary Agnes Schlather

1998 Anne L. Glasscock

1999 Paula Lopatic

2000 Lois B.  Schultz

2001 Jennifer Bromann

2002 Sharon Ball

2003 Tina Hubert

2004 Denise Anton Wright

2005 Karen Egan

2006 Amy Alessio

2007 Mary Adamowski

2008 Lori Craft

2009 Vince Sovanski

2010 Dianne Happ Hollister

2011 Lori Pulliam

2012 Sue Quinn


1 Response to Davis Cup Award

  1. Pingback: Margaret pendergrass | Myequipmentren

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s